On this page

Jira Software Cloud edition import

Migrate from Jira Software Cloud edition to DevRev or use DevRev for support while continuing to use Jira Software for development. You can also install DevRev for Jira app in your Atlassian organization for additional features and a better experience.

icon

For more information, refer to the Jira import snap-in on the DevRev marketplace.

Supported objects

The following is a list of Jira Software objects and their corresponding DevRev equivalent. Those marked as Sync to DevRev are eligible for import/sync to DevRev from Jira. Those marked as Sync to Jira are eligible to be synced to Jira from DevRev.

JiraDevRevSync to DevRevSync to Jira
IssueIssue/Ticket
CommentComment
LabelTags
LinkLink
AttachmentAttachment
UserDevUser
WorkflowStage Workflow
SprintSprint
FilterVista
AutomationSnap-in

Migrate from Jira to DevRev

In this scenario, the intention is to replace Jira with DevRev. Once the migration is complete, the work that was normally done in Jira would continue in DevRev. This can also be used to evaluate DevRev with real data.

To migrate from Jira to DevRev:

  1. Perform a project import to migrate over an entire Jira project.
  2. (Optionally) Perform a sync from Jira to DevRev to bring over changes made after the initial import. This step can be repeated as needed.

Using Jira for development

In this scenario, the intention is to keep using Jira for development work. DevRev is used to provide support (tickets, customer conversations, issues) and product planning. Development work can continue in Jira but it's synced to DevRev issues. This allows you to search over issues in Jira and link them to customer tickets without leaving DevRev. You can also take advantage of DevRev's Convergence snap-in to automatically update tickets and conversations based on issue updates happening in Jira.

To continue using Jira for development:

icon

DevRev highly recommends creating a new dedicated Jira account when setting up Jira for development or ongoing 2-way sync.

Use a dedicated Jira account to create the Jira connection and set up the import. This prevents any individual Jira user from receiving too many Jira notifications.

  1. Perform a project import to migrate over an entire Jira project.
  2. Sync from DevRev to Jira to configure the recipe to Jira.
  3. Enable the periodic Sync to automatically sync changes to and from the Jira project.
  4. (Optionally) mark a DevRev work item for syncing if you want to create issues in DevRev and have them appear in Jira. Otherwise, only previously imported issue changes are synced to and from the Jira project.

Project import

To ease the transition from Jira to DevRev, you can import your Jira projects into DevRev. The project import is a 1-time bulk import of a Jira project into DevRev. Once this import is complete, several options are made available for that project, such as resyncing changes, syncing back to Jira and bidirectional syncing.

To import a Jira project, navigate to Settings > Imports then select Start Import or Import. From there, create a new connection to a Jira site or use an existing connection if you already have one. Once the connection is established, select the project you wish to import. At this point you are prompted to configure how to import the Jira project.

Setting up the import recipe

A Jira project import is highly configurable, and the configurations for a specific project import is referred to as the recipe. Here are some guidelines on what to expect:

  • What type of work to create in DevRev?
    • You have the option to import Jira issues as DevRev issues (common - default) or DevRev tickets (uncommon).
    • Choose issues if you use the Jira project to track primarily development work.
    • Choose tickets if you use the Jira project to track only customer requests.
  • What Jira types to import?
    • Typically Jira projects contain multiple types: epics, stories, bugs, and tasks are common.
    • You can configure which types to import from Jira.
  • How to map Jira fields to DevRev fields?
    • DevRev tries to automatically and sensibly map your Jira fields to corresponding fields in DevRev, but it may prompt you on how you want to map certain fields.

Historical imports

You can view currently running and previous imports from any source, including Jira, by navigating to Settings > Imports > Past Imports.

Sync from Jira to DevRev

After a successful import of a Jira project, you have the sync from Jira to DevRev option. This feature imports any new issues and any new changes to previously imported issues.

To perform a one-time sync from Jira to DevRev, go to Settings > Imports > Past Imports, find the previously imported project, and select the ⇆ > → From Jira to DevRev option.

  • You can track the progress by going to Settings > Imports > Ongoing Imports.
icon

If the Jira project is created as Private, the global Jira administrator can access its settings but can't see the issues or most of the data (which can be checked by logging in and trying to see the issues). To be able to access the issues, set the global Jira administrator as a project administrator for that particular project separately.

icon

This overrides work's fields, even if they were changed in DevRev.

Sync from DevRev to Jira

After a successful import of a Jira project, you have the sync from DevRev to Jira option. This feature writes back any changes made in DevRev to previously imported issues from Jira. Additionally, any new DevRev work marked for sync to this project is created in Jira.

To perform a one-time sync to Jira, go to Settings > Imports > Past Imports, find the previously imported project, and select the ⇆ > ← From DevRev to Jira option.

  • You can track the progress by going to Settings > Imports > Ongoing Imports.
icon

This overrides the issue's fields, even if they were changed in Jira.

Mark a DevRev work item for syncing

Marking with UI

Using the Sync from DevRev to Jira feature, it's possible to sync DevRev work items to Jira projects that have been imported to DevRev. In order to sync a DevRev work item to Jira, it must be marked for syncing. Marking a DevRev work item for syncing can only be done during the creation of a work item. During work creation, select the dropdown for Type and set it to the Jira project, and type the work item that should be synced. The display format is as follows: _{jira\_project\_name}/issues/{type}_. For example, if you want to sync to a Bug to a Jira project called Maple, this would show as Maple/issues/Bug.

Marking with API

To mark an item for sync when creating with the API, the actual subtype name should be used. The subtype format is as follows: _jira\_{jira\_site}\_{jira\_project\_name}\_issues.{type}_. For example, if you want to sync to a Bug to a Jira project called Maple that's served through https://devrev.atlassian.net, this would show as _jira\_devrev.atlassian.net\_maple\_issues.bug_.

After a DevRev work item has been marked for syncing, it's created in the specified Jira project the next time the Sync from DevRev to Jira runs. This can be triggered manually or automatically through a periodic sync. Future syncs keep this item updated on both sides after it has been created in Jira.

Periodic sync

icon

DevRev highly recommends creating a new dedicated Jira account when setting up Jira for development or ongoing 2-way sync.

Use a dedicated Jira account to create the Jira connection and set up the import. This prevents any individual Jira user from receiving too many Jira notifications.

After a successful import of a Jira project, you have the option to set up a periodic sync for the project. A periodic sync can be configured to Sync from Jira to DevRev, Sync from DevRev to Jira, or both on a periodic basis. The default period is 1 hour.

To enable periodic sync, go to Settings > Imports > Past Imports, find the previously imported project, and select the > Start periodic sync option.

  • If you are enabling periodic sync on an imported Jira project for the first time, you should manually perform a Sync from Jira to DevRev first to configure how items from DevRev should be synced to Jira.

To disable periodic sync, go to Settings > Imports > Past Imports, find the previously imported project, and select the > Stop periodic sync option.

Delete import

icon

This deletes any content created by the import, including users and works.

An import and all the content it creates can be deleted from DevRev. This can be useful when running POCs or to change the recipe used during the import. Once an import has been deleted, all the content it created gets deleted, even if they were modified in DevRev. It's possible to import the project again after its deletion.

To delete and import all the content it created, go to Settings > Imports > Past Imports, find the previously imported project, and select ⇆ > Delete Import.