On this page

Confluence import

DevRev's Confluence import allows you to perform a bulk migration and ongoing one-way sync of Confluence pages. A bulk import is a prerequisite to setting up a sync. This Confluence import creates DevRev articles. These articles can be indexed and used for Turing answers, but the content continues to be hosted in Confluence.

icon

For more information, refer to the Confluence import snap-in on the DevRev marketplace.

Supported objects

The following is a list of Confluence objects and their DevRev equivalent.

ConfluenceDevRevSync to DevRev
PageArticle
UserDevUser
AttachmentAttachment
LabelTag
CommentComment

Importing from Confluence

Follow the steps below to import from Confluence:

  1. Go to Settings > Imports and click Start Import or Import.
  2. Create a new connection to your Confluence site, or use an existing connection if you already have one.
  3. Once the connection is established, select the Confluence site you want to import and specify the DevRev part the articles should be created under. This initiates a bulk import of the selected account.
icon

Article indexing is async and may take several minutes to complete after the import is done.

Post import options

After a successful import, you have the following options available for the imported account:

  • Sync to DevRev:
    • This option allows you to synchronize any modifications made in Confluence with the corresponding items previously imported into DevRev. It also creates new articles in DevRev for any new pages created in Confluence after the last sync or import. This is a one-time operation.
  • Periodic Sync:
    • By enabling this option, you can automatically sync new changes from Confluence to DevRev on a periodic basis. The default frequency is once an hour.
  • View Report:
    • This option allows you to access detailed information about the initial import and any subsequent syncs performed.
  • Delete Import:
    • If you wish to remove the import and all items that were imported from Confluence into DevRev, you can use this option.
  • Edit Connection:
    • Use this option to change the connection used for any subsequent actions. It can be helpful if a connection becomes inactive or the user who established it's no longer available.

Historical imports

To view currently running and previous imports from various sources, including Confluence, go to Settings > Imports.

  1. Go to Settings > Imports.

Sync to DevRev

After a successful import from a Confluence account, you can choose to sync the imported data with DevRev. This feature imports any new items and any changes made to previously imported items from Confluence.

To perform a one-time sync to DevRev, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Settings > Imports.
  2. Locate the previously imported project.
  3. Select > ⇾ From Confluence to DevRev.
icon

This may override fields in previously imported items, even if they were modified in DevRev.

Periodic sync

After successfully importing from a Confluence site, you have the option to enable periodic syncing. This allows for automatic synchronization between Confluence and DevRev on a regular basis. By default, syncing occurs once an hour.

To enable periodic syncing, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Settings > Imports.
  2. Locate the previously imported project.
  3. Select > Start Periodic Sync.

To disable the periodic sync, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Settings > Imports.
  2. Locate the previously imported project.
  3. Select > Stop Periodic Sync.

Delete import

icon

This deletes any content created by the import, including articles and users.

An import and all the content it creates can be deleted from DevRev. This can be useful when running POCs or to change the recipe used during the import. Once an import has been deleted, all the content it created gets deleted, even if they were modified in DevRev. It's possible to import the project again after its deletion.

To delete and import all the content it created, go to Settings > Imports > Past Imports, find the previously imported project, and select ⇆ > Delete Import.