On this page

Freshdesk Airdrop

The Freshdesk Airdrop simplifies migration from Freshdesk to DevRev, supporting both one-time imports and ongoing syncs.

Freshdesk Airdrop includes a date extraction filter that you can use to limit the ticket data pulled from Freshdesk. This feature complements the existing Airdrop filters, which restrict data creation in DevRev based on date, but only after the ticket data has been downloaded from Freshdesk.

Supported objects

The following is a list of Freshdesk objects and their corresponding DevRev equivalent. Those marked as Supported are eligible for import.

Freshdesk ObjectDevRev ObjectSync to DevRev
TicketsTickets
CompanyAccount
ContactsCustomers
AgentsDevUser
ConveresationTimeline Comment
AttachmentsAttachments

Importing from Freshdesk

Follow the steps below to import from Freshdesk:

  1. Go to Marketplaces > Search for Freshdesk under Import category and install.
  2. You will land on the Snap-in config modal. Click on Install, and then navigate to the Import section on your settings left nav
  3. Start an import and select the Freshdesk logo, after you click +Import
  4. Create a new connection to your Freshdesk account, or use an existing connection if you already have one.
  5. Once the connection is established, select the Freshdesk account you want to import and specify the DevRev part that should be used for any imported work (future releases make use of this). This initiates a bulk import of the selected site.
  6. DevRev makes an effort to automatically map the fields from Freshdesk to the corresponding fields in DevRev. However, you may be prompted to manually map certain fields if needed.

The duration of the import depends on the size of the Freshdesk account and the data being imported. It can take seconds for an account with only a few dozen tickets to a few hours for an account with tens of thousands of items with many attachments. DevRev honors the Freshdesk API rate limits and back-off and resumes automatically.

Post import options

After a successful import, you have the following options available for the imported account:

  • Sync to DevRev
    • This option allows you to synchronize any modifications made in Freshdesk with the corresponding items previously imported into DevRev. It also creates new items in DevRev for any new tickets in Freshdesk after the last sync or import.
  • Periodic Sync
    • By enabling this option, you can automatically sync new changes from Freshdesk to DevRev on a periodic basis. The default frequency is once an hour.
  • View Report
    • This option allows you to access detailed information about the initial import and any subsequent syncs performed.
  • Delete Import
    • If you wish to remove the import and all items that were imported from Freshdesk into DevRev, you can use this option.
  • Edit Connection
    • Use this option to change the connection used for any subsequent actions. It can be helpful if a connection becomes inactive or the user who established it is no longer available.

Historical imports

To view currently running and previous imports from various sources, including Freshdesk, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Settings > Imports.
  2. Select the Import you want
  3. Click on the context menu (3 dots), and select "View Report"

Sync to DevRev

After a successful import from a Freshdesk account, you can choose to sync the imported data with DevRev. This feature imports any new companies and contacts and any changes made to previously imported items from Freshdesk.

To perform a one-time sync to DevRev, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Settings > Imports.
  2. Locate the previously imported project.
  3. Select the ⇆ > ⇾ From Freshdesk to DevRev option.
icon

Please be aware that this may override fields in previously imported items, even if they were modified in DevRev.

Periodic sync

After successfully importing from a Freshdesk account, you have the option to enable a periodic sync. This allows for automatic synchronization between Freshdesk and DevRev on a regular basis. By default, the sync occurs once an hour.

To enable a periodic sync, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Settings > Imports.
  2. Locate the previously imported project.
  3. Select the ⇆ > Start Periodic Sync option.

To disable a periodic sync, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Settings > Imports.
  2. Locate the previously imported project.
  3. Select the ⇆ > Stop Periodic Sync option.

Delete import

icon

This deletes any content created by the import, including accounts, users, works, and parts.

Users not created by the import but created under an Import account will also be deleted as part of the account deletion.

An import and all the content it creates can be deleted from DevRev. This can be useful when running POCs or to change the recipe used during the import. Once an import has been deleted, all the content it created gets deleted, even if they were modified in DevRev. It's possible to import the project again after its deletion.

To delete and import all the content it created, go to Settings > Imports > Past Imports, find the previously imported project, and select ⇆ > Delete Import.